Chia-Coconut-Walnut Porridge

Porridge with berries, chia hempWhen it comes to breakfast, I like it easy. Like really easy. Even though it takes no time cooking eggs, making an omelette or what not, I just don’t want to spend time on it during weekdays. I have always loved a good porridge, and as far as I remember, I have been eating a good and solid porridge almost every morning since I was 16. The past few years it seems that my appetite has changed though. I’m not as hungry in the morning as I used to be, which I find to be quite odd. Some days I eat breakfast at 10 AM, while other days I can be starving as i roll out of bed by 7. 
Either way the past few month I have begun to cook porridge again in the early hours. Some days I’m quite hungry and eat it all and others I’m half as hungry and eat only some, but it’s better than not eating at all, huh?
Today I cooked myself a chia-coconut-walnut porridge, and my oh my it was a good one! I always (like always) top my porridge with chia seeds, nuts, hemp seeds and a bit of berries, pears or apples.
This was what came out of it, just consider me a porridge master! Recipe below.
Porridge coconut chia hemp
To make porridge for one, you’ll need:
30 grams of (glutenfree) oats
1 tbsp chia seeds
a few walnuts (a small handful), break them into small pieces
1 tsp coconut oil, neutral in flavour
water (or vanilla veggie milk – almond, soy, oat or coconut) to cover

Topping:
coconut flakes/small chunks
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 – 2 tbsp hemp seeds
a few walnuts broken into small pieces
raspberries

To do: 
Put all your ingredients in a small pot, stir around and bring to boil while you keep stirring. Your arm might tire if you put too much water in, but just keep going, no one wants a burnt porridge. When your porridge is coming together and becoming sticky (the chia seeds will speed up the process) take the pot of the heat, put into a bowl of choice and serve with topping – or topping of your choice.

Benefits
Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, I know, why I’m trying to implement it in my every day routine once gain. Some where along the way it went wrong for me, and I’m trying to get back on track.
The chia seeds are rich in Omega 3 and fibre, coconut flakes are rich in fibre and iron (and in taste), walnuts are too rich in Omega 3 and fibre, hemp seeds are rich in proteins, Omega 3 and phytonutrients which are contributing to fights diseases. Our body needs fibre to maintain a healthy digestion, a low cholesterol, a stabil blood sugar level throughout the day, fight cardio-vascular diseases, keep us slim, and protect us against cancer. Of course we need different sources of food to maintain all these benefits, why you should maintain a healthy, varied diet.

Happy Tuesday, Anna

 

 

 

Chia-Coconut-Walnut Porridge

Leave a comment